IMG_2493

It’s my 32nd Birthday today!
This blog post is my 200th blog post!
So it’s a happy birthday and happy anniversary all in one!
And since my blog is titled All About John McBlain, this post is all about me!

Willam Belli ME GIF

I’ve been writing a series of blogs called 100 Days of Happiness over the past wee while. It was a way to focus my mind on things that brought me happiness and a way to allow me to process a really dark period that had a negative impact on my life. I got to Day 37 and realised… You know what? That is plenty. Don’t get me wrong! It was a positive thing to do and I can safely say that I am now probably in the best frame of mind that I have been in a long, long, long time!

There was a period recently where I literally had the life drained from me. I was living in someone else’s darkness. It was caustic and upon reflection, I can now see that it really wasn’t for me. My friends and family saw the warning signs from afar. I saw them on a daily basis. Other people’s baggage is a heavy and tiresome burden to lift and oh my god my back got broken trying. At the end of the day though, they really weren’t my bags to lift. I tried to lift them. It didn’t work out.

Hindsight is a marvellous thing and I’ve realised that thinking about the should’ves and the could’ves and the would’ves is absolutely pointless. It gets you nowhere. Well. Actually it has let me realise just how dangerous parasites can be if you let them take over.

I suppose every story needs a dark chapter. And my dark chapter is finally over. I have no need or desire to re-read it ever again. The chapters that have yet to come will make much better reading! I can see that the current one has a much happier ending in store already!

So! 32 years old today!

Rocky Horror Birthday

I think I’ve managed to achieve most of the things I set out to do in life. I have an amazing family. I have amazing friends. I own a house. I have a brilliant job. I work in music for a living. I can call myself a musician and educator by trade. I have a Master’s Degree. I have a pretty fucking brilliant future ahead of me! I also now have a record player that plays nothing but Fleetwood Mac. Happy? You better believe I am!

Thank you to all my friends and family for everything.
Thank you to everyone for all the birthday wishes.
Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
Here’s to a lifetime of happiness!

About johnmcblain

Scottish Musician & Artist and FE Lecturer in Music. MA MSc BA BMus and now studying for my TQFE at Stirling Uni. Soon to be on Spotify! Twitter - @johnmcblain Instagram - johnmcblain

Leave a Reply

