IMG_1666

100 Days of Happiness: Day 3

I picked up a book recently on advice from the one and only Michelle Visage who personally recommend it to me.

It’s called ‘A Return To Love’ by Marianne Williamson and focuses on her reflections on principals of ‘A Course In Miracles’ by Helen Schucman. 

I’m not one for self help books and spiritualism but I thought… fuckit… reading is fundamental after all!

I’m only a few chapters in and it’s message is already sinking in. A key phrase that has stuck in my head is “surrendering the old ways of thinking“. 

It is common and often thought that surrendering is commensurate with failing. It is not. I repeat: it. is. not.

By allowing our quite often negatively  learned ways of thinking to be all consuming of our minds, emotions and wellbeing we allow ourselves to be trapped and to become repetitive of old habits. If we allow ourselves to surrender old habits, tired ways and retire the negativity surrounding us, we are prepared for an evolution of change for the better. 

As I said, I’m only a few chapters into the book, and I can now see that what I’m reading, I have always known. Sometimes you just need to break it down for a motherfucker!

The thing that brought me happiness today is starting reading this book as it has allowed me to see that although I’ve been a little lost recently, I’ve been on the right track all along. Always.

I’ll probably return to this book at sometime across my 100 Days of Happiness! 

In the meantime… Be happy people! Be happy! 



About johnmcblain

Scottish Musician, Artist & Lecturer! Alumni of University of the West of Scotland, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland and Stirling University. My First E.P. released Autumn 2017! Social Media: @johnmcblain

Leave a Reply

