ITILI_vol2_strip

I’d like to revisit a DJ set I made last year.
It’s called I Think I Like It Volume 2 and is available
to download on Mixcrate and to stream on Mixcloud.

i think i like it vol 2

I have the pleasure of reviewing my students’ work on a weekly basis but haven’t written a review of my own work for a long time. It may be a bit narcissistic, but I make no apologies for loving the music in this DJ set!

ITILI_vol2_original

It begins with a mashup that I made of Touch & Go’s 1998 big beat, ridiculously addictive trumpet solo heavy track Would You and the excellent Benny Page remix of Jessie J’s Price Tag from 2011. These two tracks probably shouldn’t work together, but they really do!

The mix continues with the frantic tech sound with Danny Byrd and Netsky’s early rave inspired Tonight before making a smooth transition into the chilled and almost majestic Spectral Soul remix of Adele’s Rolling In The Deep. The combination of house piano chords and deep sub-bass really sounds quite sublime.

Just as you’re getting comfortable with some deep house, a tribal and voodoo like percussion riff begins, introducing Takura Tendayi’s sinister vocals on the manic No Problem from Chase & Status before subtly moving into the Dominator Synth heavy sound of Danny Byrd & Tomahawk’s Hot Fuzz, paving the way for Byrd’s phenomenal reinterpretation of Liquid’s piano / breakbeat classic Sweet Harmony.

Following the rave heavy sounds of Chase & Status, Danny Byrd, Tomahawk and Liquid comes the liquid funk sound of Paperchase and Beautiful from Brookes Brothers that intertwine seamlessly into each other, before concluding the set with the stunning First Note Is Silent– a high energy drum & bass meets techno meets trance collaboration from the ever amazing High Contrast, Tiesto and Underworld.

I Think I Like It Volume 2 is a relatively short DJ set running at just under 22 minutes featuring 10 tracks. If you’re taste in music lies in the realms of big beat, drum and bass, rave inspired electronica then I’d love you to give it a listen and let me know what you think!

I Think I Like It Volume 2
is available to stream on Mixcloud and to  download for free from Mixcrate:

ITILI_vol2_strip

About johnmcblain

Scottish Musician, Artist & Lecturer! Alumni of University of the West of Scotland, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland and Stirling University. My First E.P. released Autumn 2017! Social Media: @johnmcblain

Leave a Reply

