I’ve been addicted to World of Wonder and Logo TV’s award winning Ru Paul’s Drag Race since it’s debut in 2009.
The show follows RuPaul on a mission to find ‘America’s next drag superstar’ each season, with Bebe Zahara Benet, Tyra Sanchez, Raja, Sharon Needles, Chad Michaels and Jinkx Monsoon winning the crown over the show’s 5 seasons and All Stars special.

RajaBebeTyraRaja, Bebe Zahara Benet, Tyra Sanchez

SharonChadJinkxSharon Needles, Chad Michael, Jinkx Monsoon

Chad Sell is an amazing artist and illustrator and I absolutely adore his Drag Race ArtWERK based on the contestants and queens from the show. The moment I saw them I just knew that I had to have them!
Click on the logo above to have a look through his entire collection!

Drag Art

The three prints I have, as pictured above,  feature Raven & Jujubee from Season 2 and All Stars, Alaska Thunderfuck, finalist from Season 5 and Sharon Needles, winner of Season 4. Lucky for me, I found out about Chad Sell’s work around the time of my birthday and was bought all 3 as presents! Needless to say, I will be making an investment in some more as soon as possible!

Let’s have a closer look at the prints I have and the inspiration behind them!

Sharon’s Syringe
From Season 4, Episode 5: Snatch Game

Sharon

Snatch Game is always one of my favourite features of Drag Race, in which the contestants have to channel their favourite celebrity’s cunning, uniqeness, nerve and talent in a celebrity impersonation ‘Match Game’ panel show!
Sharon’s Syringe is taken from the episode’s runway challenge in which Sharon Needles donned this look in homage to her fascination with plastic surgery and those who have gone under the knife.

Sharon Syringe

Lipstick
From Season 5, Episode 6: Can I Get An Amen?

Alaska

Alaska Thunderfuck is one of my all time favourite people from the show. Her greeting of HIEEEEE has become a standard greeting amongst my friends and I!
Taken from the episode’s mini challenge where the queens had to apply their make up in the dark, Alaska’s dramatic unveiling left both RuPaul and Alaska screaming in hilarity!

Rujubee
From All Stars, Episode 5: Dynamic Drag Duos

RuJubee

RuPaul’s All Stars saw previous contestants return to compete for a place in the Drag Race Hall of Fame!
The main challenge of episode 5 saw each team tasked to create unforgettable Super Heroes and Super Villains.

Jujubee’s Super Hero was Melonina… whose magical Tan Spray gun was activated by a power cry of ‘NO T NO SHADE’! Her mission… to bring a bronze glow to every human being!

Raven’s Super Villain was Sofia Fierce… whose magical powercuffs threw shade from her wrists. Her war cry? ‘THROW ME SHADE BITCH’! Her masterplan? World… dom…in…ation…

raven jujubee lip sync

Raven & Jujubee were forced to lip sync for their lives in a dramatic rendition of Robyn’s Dancing On My Own to which RuPaul chose to save both contestants, securing a final 4 for the finale of the All Stars series!
Their lip sync is included in this Top 10 Lip Sync montage starting at 02:44…

There we have it!
The story of my Chad Sell ArtWERKS!
I think they’re fierce and sickening!
Remember and check out his website and artworks at the links in this blog!

Oh!
If anyone wishes to buy or send me this Jinkx Monsoon Dia de los Muertos…
Please! Feel free!

Jinkx

About johnmcblain

Scottish Musician, Artist & Lecturer! Alumni of University of the West of Scotland, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland and Stirling University. My First E.P. released Autumn 2017! Social Media: @johnmcblain

3 responses »

  1. 手機殼 says:

    Thanks a lot for the blog article.A lot thanks once more. Truly Great.

    Like

  2. Eric says:

    Do you sell prints of your artwork?

    Like

Leave a Reply

