30 DSC BANNER

Song 6:
A Song That Reminds You Of Somewhere

Delerium - Silence

This… Is…Epic…
This song is absolutely 100% one of the greatest dance songs and remixes ever made in the history of dance music.
The original 1999 version of Silence is a ambient track by Delerium and Sarah McLachlan which features a dark and haunting Gregorian Chant intertwined with some stunning melodic electronica. Many remixes have circulated over the years, with the Airscape remix being the prominent version re-release of the track in the year 2000. Tiesto’s In Search Of Sunrise Remix is in my opinion, the finest example of how a remix should be handled. It takes the haunted ambience of the original and completely reinvents the song with even more drama and flair, making full use of Sarah McLachlan’s stunningly epic and emotional vocals.

It is one of my favourite songs of all time.
It reminds me of Ibiza.
It reminds me of Ibiza at a time when dance music was real.
It reminds me of Ibiza in the golden years.
It reminds me of some fucking epic and amazing adventures that I had across the years on that tiny little Balaeric island.

This is my song that reminds me of somewhere.

About johnmcblain

Scottish Musician, Artist & Lecturer! Alumni of University of the West of Scotland, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland and Stirling University. My First E.P. released Autumn 2017! Social Media: @johnmcblain

Leave a Reply

